Visit Governor DeSantis’ Florida COVID-19 Resource center for Phase 1 and Phase 2 infographics, presentations, and additional resources and information.
On March 1, 2020, Governor Ron DeSantis directed the Florida Surgeon General to declare a public health emergency and to coordinate the state’s emergency response activities as necessary to protect the public in the prevention and control of Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19). For information and guidance regarding COVID-19 in Florida, visit the Florida Department of Health’s dedicated COVID-19 webpage.
Help Florida “flatten the curve” by continuing to do your part to slow the spread of COVID-19, please take the Florida Department of Health’s Stronger than C-19 community action survey.
On June 25, 2020 Governor Ron DeSantis announced the Affordable Housing Coronavirus Relief Initiative which provides $250 Million in CARES Act funding for rental and mortgage assistance for Florida families that have been negatively impacted by the COVID-19 Pandemic.
Executive Order 20-91, issued 04/01/2020, directs Floridians to stay “safer at home” for the next 30 days unless seeking or carrying out essentials services. This order will take effect on April 3, 2020 and will expire on April 30, 2020 unless extended. For more information on Executive Order 20-91, please see the frequently asked questions. Florida’s Division of Emergency Management has provided a detailed list of essential services.
Executive Order 20-94, issued 04/02/2020, immediately suspends any statute providing for a mortgage cause of action under Florida Law for 45 days, including any extensions. Executive Order 20-94 also suspends any statute providing for an eviction cause under Florida Law solely as it relates to non-payment of rent by residential tenants due to the COVID-19 emergency for the 45 days, including extensions. The order does not relieve individuals from their obligation to make mortgage or rent payments. This executive order went into effect on April 2, 2020.
Executive Order 20-95, issued 04/06/2020, suspends the assessment and collection of taxation imposed under Chapter 201, F.S. for all note and other written obligations made pursuant to Title 1 of the CARES act effective April 3, 2020 and shall remain in effect until the expiration of Executive Order 20-52.
Executive Order 20-103, issued 04/10/2020, continues the suspension of vacation rental operations under Executive Order 20-87 through April 30, 2020. Vacation rentals are prohibited from making new reservations or bookings and shall not accept new guests for checkin for the duration of this order.
Executive Order 20-104, issued 04/16/2020, temporarily suspends the biweekly “actively seeking work” reporting requirement by unemployed claimants.
Executive Order 20-112, issued 04/29/2020, provides guidelines for Phase 1 of re-opening Florida.
Executive Order 20-120, issued 05/09/2020, extends Executive Order 20-112 with the modification of including Palm Beach County in the phase one recovery plan. The Order also authorizes persons in Florida to provide or obtain barber and cosmetology services in licensed establishments that adopt appropriate social distancing and precautionary measures as outlined by the Department of Business and Professional Regulation. For details related to required and recommended precautionary measures pursuant to this Order, please see the Additional Information for Barbershops and Cosmetology Salons and the FAQs for Executive Order 20-120.
Executive Order 20-122, issued 05/14/2020, allows Broward and Miami-Dade counties to enter Phase 1 of the Governor’s plan to reopen Florida, effective 12:01 a.m. on May 18, 2020.
Executive Order 20-123, issued 5/15/2020, extends and modifies Executive Order 20-112 (as modified by Executive Order 20-120) regarding the Safe. Smart. Step-by-Step. Plan for Florida’s Recovery. The order brings all Florida counties into Full Phase 1 of the state recovery plan and allows:
- restaurants and food establishments to serve patrons at indoor seating up to fifty percent of the establishment’s seating capacity, excluding employees;
- in-store retail sales establishments to operate up to fifty percent of the building’s occupancy;
- museums and libraries to operate at fifty percent of the building’s occupancy;
- gyms and fitness centers to operate up to 50 percent of the building’s occupancy with social distancing measures in effect for classes and sufficient sanitation supplies provided for a patron’s self-cleaning of surfaces and machines following each use; and
- each county to seek approval to operate vacation rentals within the county’s jurisdiction by submitting a written request and the county’s safety plan to the Secretary of DBPR (see notice to county administrators below). To view a list of counties in which safety plans for vacation rental operations have been approved by DBPR, please visit Status of Vacation Rental Operations by County.
The order also includes provisions related to the operations of professional sports at venues in Florida and the process for reopening plans of amusement parks. Additional information regarding Executive Order 20-123 is also available through the following DBPR publications related to safety measures, best practices, and frequently asked questions:
- Restaurants – Mandatory Measures and Best Practices
- Restaurants – FAQs re: Executive Order 20-123
- Gyms and Fitness Centers – Mandatory Measures and Best Practices
- Vacation Rentals – Recommended Safety Measures and Best Practices
Executive Order 20-131, issued 5/22/2020, allows organized youth activities to operate effective immediately.
Executive Order 20-137, issued 6/01/2020, extends Executive Order 20-94, as extended by Executive Order 20-121, until 12:01 a.m. on July 1, 2020 providing limited continued Mortgage Foreclosure and Eviction relief.
Executive Order 20-139, issued 6/03/2020, provides guidelines regarding Phase 2 of Governor DeSantis’ plan for Florida’s recovery. This order is effective at 12:01 a.m. on June 5, 2020.
Executive Order 20-149, issued 6/17/2020, provides guidance on Primary and General Elections, including: canvasing vote-by-mail ballots, poll workers, election administration and coordination, polling locations, and notices to the public and Division of Elections.
Executive Order 20-150, issued 6/23/2020, extends Executive Order 20-69 (regarding local government meetings), as extended by Executive Orders 20-121, 20-123 and 20-139 until 12:01 a.m. on August 1, 2020.
Executive Order 20-159, issued 6/30/2020, extends Executive Order 20-94, as extended by Executive Order 20-121 and Executive Order 20-137, until 12:01 a.m. on August 1, 2020 providing limited continued Mortgage Foreclosure and Eviction relief.
Executive Order 20-192, issued 8/05/2020, amends and extends previous executive orders:
Section 3 C. of Executive Order 20-68, as extended by Executive Order 20-112, Executive Order 20-139 and Executive Order 20-166, should read as follows: The Department of Business and Professional Regulation shall ensure all restaurants implement employee screening protocols pursuant to guidance developed by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Section 3 of Executive Order 20-139, which incorporates requirements of Executive Order 20-80 and Executive Order 20-82, as extended by Executive Order 20-166, is rescinded. Otherwise, Executive Order 20-139 remains in effect for the duration of Executive Order 20-166.
Executive Order 20-210, issued 8/28/3020, suspends the existing renewal deadline for any alcoholic beverage license, permit, registration, or certificate issued by the Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco through December 31, 2020.
Visit the Governor’s COVID resource page for COVID-19 specific information, infographics and presentations or for a complete list of all of Executive Orders issued in 2020, please visit the Governor’s 2020 Executive Orders page.
Financial Relief and Assistance
On March 27, 2020, the Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act was signed into law. The Act is aimed at reducing the economic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic and authorizes aid to various sectors of the economy. Various relief options are available through both Federal and State agencies:
- The Paycheck Protection Program (PPP): The Paycheck Protection Program is a loan designed to provide a direct incentive for small businesses to keep their workers on the payroll. The U.S. Small Business Administration (SBA) will forgive loans if all employees are kept on the payroll for eight weeks and the money is used for payroll, rent, mortgage interest, or utilities. The Paycheck Protection Program will be available through June 30, 2020. For more information on the PPP, please visit the SBA at https://www.sba.gov/funding-programs/loans/paycheck-protection-program-ppp
- Paycheck Protection Program Flexibility Act of 2020: The PPPFA was signed into law on Friday, June 5. The PPPFA changes the restrictions on how PPP money can be spent and increases the timeframe to spend the loan. The U.S. Department of Treasury’s Assistance for Small Businesses site has in-depth information regarding the PPP and the PPPFA including rule revisions.
- Economic Injury Disaster Loans and Loan Advance (EIDL): Small business owners in all U.S. states, Washington D.C., and territories are eligible to apply for an Economic Injury Disaster Loan advance of up to $10,000. The SBA’s Economic Injury Disaster Loan program provides small businesses with working capital loans of up to $2 million that can provide vital economic support to small businesses to help overcome the temporary loss of revenue they are experiencing. The loan advance will provide economic relief to businesses that are currently experiencing a temporary loss of revenue. Funds will be made available within three days of a successful application, and this loan advance will not have to be repaid. For more information on EIDL please visit the SBA at https://www.sba.gov/page/disaster-loan-applications
- Florida Small Business Emergency Bridge Loan (EBL): The Florida Small Business Emergency Bridge Loan Program is currently available to small business owners located in all Florida counties statewide that experienced economic damage as a result of COVID-19. These short-term, interest-free working capital loans are intended to “bridge the gap” between the time a major catastrophe hits and when a business has secured longer term recovery resources, such as sufficient profits from a revived business, receipt of payments on insurance claims or federal disaster assistance. For more information on EBL please visit http://www.floridajobs.org/rebuildflorida/businessrecovery
The Florida Small Business Development Center Network has provided a video highlighting the requirements and explaining the process of applying for a Florida Small Business Emergency Bridge Loan (EBL).
Additional State Resources and Information
Florida Agency for Healthcare administration
- Florida’s Agency for Healthcare administration has a resource page for medical facilities and medical providers in response to COVID-19.
- For more information regarding Florida’s hospitals capacity, please see the Agency for Healthcare Administration’s Hospital Capacity Dashboard.
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services
- On May 26, 2020 applications open for $16 Billion in U.S. Department of Agriculture financial support through the Coronavirus Food Assistance Program (CFAP) to help American farmers impacted by COVID-19. Agriculture Commissioner Nikki Fried is urging all eligigle Florida Farmers and ranchers to apply immediately through their county Farm Service Agency office. For more information on CFAP, please see the FDACS press release.
- The Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services is advising farmers to utilize new flexibilities on crop insurance due to COVID-19 announced by the United States Department of Agriculture’s Risk Management Agency. For more information, please read FDAC’s crop insurance press release or visit the U.S. Department of Agriculture’s coronvirus resource page.
- Emergency Order 2020-002 provides relief to pest control, pesticide, fertilizer, and animal feed licensees by suspending the late fees assessed for failure to timely pay fees, or timely renew licenses and certifications. Additionally, it extends (by 30 days) the timeframes required for both quarterly and annual reporting, as well as for renewing licenses and certificates.
- Emergency Order 2020-003 waives fees that would typically be imposed for late renewals of the following permits and registrations: solicitors of contributions (charities), brake fluid, commercially-used weights and measures (e.g., scales), motor vehicle repair shops, and dealers of agricultural products.
- Emergency Order 2020-004 will help concealed weapon licensees and Chapter 493 licensees by suspending renewal application late fees, providing additional time (30 days) to renew licenses set to expire, providing armed security officers additional time to submit proof of annual requalification, and allowing unarmed security officer training to be conducted by live video conferencing.
- Emergency Order 2020-005 suspends (for 30 days) the requirement for “Class G” license applicants to obtain a certification of physical fitness from a physician or physician assistant due to a shortage of available medical providers.
- Emergency Order 2020-006 waives certain packaging and labeling requirements for eggs sold at Florida retail food establishments. This order follows an announcement from the U.S. Food and Drug Administration providing temporary flexibility on certain packaging and labeling requirements for shell eggs sold in retail food establishments. For more information, see the FDA’s guidance on temporary packaging and labeling policy for shell eggs.
- Emergency Rule 5JER20-1 states that the COVID-19 global health crisis and the U.S. Center for Disease Control’s directive to limit travel, there is an extreme and unusual oversupply of fuel meeting winter season volatility requirements, known as “winter blend” fuel. This emergency rule will allow winter blend fuel to be sold longer, ensuring the adequate and rapid distribution of available fuel and helping to stabilize the fuel market, and providing consumers a stable supply of gasoline.
- Emergency Rule 5PER20-2 extends the deadlines for Sponsors participating in the National School Lunch Program to appeal agency action that may be issued against them by the Department in the coming weeks. The deadlines are being extended to allow Sponsors the extra time needed to comply with recommendations for social distancing when responding to the agency action and to allow the Department to safely hold hearings at a later date.
Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services emergency orders and rules can be viewed here.
Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation
- DBPR Emergency Order 2020-01, issued 3/16/2020, suspends the license renewal deadline for a period of 30 days following the existing renewal deadline for any license, permit, registration, or certificate with an expiration occurring in March or April. The order also provides that license renewal requirements for completion of continuing education, if applicable, are also suspended for the same time period.
- DBPR Emergency Order 2020-02, issued 3/23/2020, suspends the provisions of section 499.006(9), Florida Statutes, as they relate to the expiration date of personal protective equipment (PPE) that is worn to minimize exposure to hazards that cause serious workplace injuries or illnesses, including filtering facepiece respirators such as N-95 respirators and surgical masks.
- DBPR Emergency Order 2020-03, issued 3/23/2020, suspends and tolls through May 31, 2020, the following: all time requirements, notice requirements, and deadlines for final agency action on applications for permits, licenses, rates, and other approvals under any statutes or rules for which such applications are deemed approved unless disapproved in writing by specified deadlines; all final orders reflecting final agency action; all time requirements, notice requirements and deadlines for filing responses to notices of intended agency action pursuant to s. 120.569, Florida Statutes; and all deadlines for licensure eligibility and examination eligibility.
- DBPR Emergency Order 2020-04, issued 3/27/2020, suspends certain conditions of the emergency powers of the association board of a condominium, cooperative, or homeowners’ association to allow the exercise of these powers during the state of emergency unless specifically prohibited by the provisions of the association’s governing documents. The order suspends and tolls the timing requirements pertaining to the preparation, submittal, or filing of certain financial reports and statements of a condominium association, cooperative association, or timeshare plan. The order waives the assessment of pilotage earned by harbor pilots for March and April, 2020, and extends the deadline for the filing of a harbor pilot’s annual earnings statement from April 15, 2020, to July 15, 2020. The order suspends any restriction of chapter 474, F.S., or chapter 61G-18, F.A.C. which would prohibit an active Florida-licensed veterinarian from practicing telemedicine on a patient.
- DBPR Emergency Order 2020-05, issued 4/30/2020, suspends the renewal deadline until June 1, 2020, for any license, permit, registration, or certificate issued by DBPR that has an existing renewal deadline in March, April, or May 2020. The order also suspends the deadlines related to continuing education conditions of renewal for these license holders through June 1, 2020. DBPR EO 2020-05 effectively supersedes the prior DBPR EO 2020-01 and extends all March, April, and May license renewal deadlines to June 1, 2020, unless extended by a subsequent order.
- DBPR Emergency Order 2020-06, issued 5/20/2020, establishes an expiration for certain provisions of DBPR Emergency Order 2020-04, including sections 1-5 related to the emergency powers of a board of a condominium, cooperative, or homeowners’ association and sections 6-9 related to the tolling of time requirements for the filing of certain financial statements of condominium associations, cooperative associations, and timeshare plans. As of June 1, 2020, sections 1-9 of DBPR Emergency Order 2020-04 shall cease to be operational. The order also extends the waiver of the assessment of harbor pilots in section 10 of DBPR Emergency Order 2020-04 for May, June, and July 2020.
- DBPR Emergency Order 2020-07, issued 5/31/2020, suspends the existing renewal deadline of any license issued by the Florida Real Estate Commission to December 31, 2020, for real estate licenses with an existing renewal deadline between June 1, 2020, and December 31, 2020. Late fees will not be assessed on eligible license renewals during this extended time period. This order also extends the deadline for any continuing education hours that are an existing condition of renewal to December 31, 2020. DBPR Emergency Order 2020-07 implements an extension of renewal deadlines that is necessary to accommodate the universal hardship exemption for end-of-course examinations as adopted by the Florida Real Estate Commission on May 19, 2020, in its Order Establishing Hardship Exemption and Extending Deadline for End of Course Examinations.
- DBPR Emergency Order 2020-08, issued 6/09/2020, extends deadlines for examination eligibility and licensure eligibility through December 31, 2020, for professional licenses regulated pursuant to Chapter 455, Florida Statutes, and the related professional practice acts. The Order supersedes section 4 of DBPR Emergency Order 2020-03, which had previously extended these deadlines through May 31, 2020.
- DBPR Emergency Order 2020-09, issued 6/26/2020, suspends the sale of alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises for all vendors licensed to sell alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises who derive more than 50% of gross revenue from the sale of alcoholic beverages. Such vendors may continue to sell alcoholic beverages in sealed containers for consumption off the premises in accordance with Executive Order 20-71, Sections 1 and 2. Licensed restaurants may continue to operate for on-premises consumption of food and beverages at tables pursuant to the restrictions in Executive Order 20-139, so long as these vendors derive 50% or less of gross revenue from the sale of alcoholic beverages for on-premises consumption.
- DBPR Amended Emergency Order 2020-09, issued July 1, 2020, amends the provisions of DBPR Emergency Order 2020-09 to effectively order the following:
- vendors licensed to sell alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, but not licensed to offer food service, shall suspend sales of alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, provided that these vendors may continue to sell alcoholic beverages for consumption off the premises; and
- vendors licensed to sell alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises, and also licensed to offer food service, may continue to operate as restaurants at 50% of seating occupancy for the service of food and beverages to customers seated at tables or bar counters with appropriate social distancing.
- Executive Order 20-68 directs restrictions on the operations of certain bars, pubs, nightclubs, and restaurants. If you believe any licensee is operating contrary to the Governor’s Executive Order 20-68, please report the information on the Department of Business and Professional Regulation’s Complaint Filing Portal.
- Executive Order 20-210, issued 8/28/3020, suspends the existing renewal deadline for any alcoholic beverage license, permit, registration, or certificate issued by the Division of Alcoholic Beverages and Tobacco through December 31, 2020.
- DBPR Emergency Order 2010-10, issued 9/10/2020, rescinds Emergency Order 2010-09, as amended, as of 12:01 a.m. on 9/14/2020.
- Beginning Monday, September 14, 2020, bars and other alcoholic beverage vendors may resume sales and service of alcoholic beverages for consumption on the premises in accordance with the operating parameters for Phase 2 of Florida’s Safe. Smart. Step-by-Step Plan for Recovery as established in Executive Order 20-139
- For information and guidance for Department of Business and Professional Regulation stakeholders and regulated businesses, please visit the DBPR Emergency Information Page.
Florida Department of Children and Families
Florida’s Department of Children and Families’ COVID-19 resource page provides information and updates on Economic Self-Sufficiency (ACCESS), Child Care and Welfare, Mental Health Treatment Facilities, Adult Protective Services, Office Closures and other valuable information.
Florida Department of Economic Opportunity
- If you have been impacted by the efforts to mitigate the spread of COVID-19, you can file a claim for State or Federal Reemployment Assistance Claim at https://fileaclaim.myflorida.com/. Please be aware:
The Florida Department of Economic Opportunity (DEO) is committed to getting benefits to eligible Floridians as quickly as possible.
To comply with federal law, weeks beginning May 10, 2020, claimants will be required to return to the CONNECT system every two weeks to request their benefits or “claim their weeks.” In so doing, claimants will confirm that they are still unemployed and acknowledge that you are able and available for work.
You must claim your weeks in order to receive benefits. Claimants will be able to request a benefit payment for each week available.
Governor DeSantis has, however, directed DEO to waive the work search and work registration requirements for claimants through May 30, 2020. However, answers to work search questions are still required to process your claim in the CONNECT system but will not impact benefit payments.
- Please visit DEO’s COVID-19 Resources for Employers and Individuals site for more information:
- For individuals
- Reemployment Assistance
- CARES Act Benefits and Implementation
- CONNECT system Login
- Download paper application
- Find a FEDEX office. FedEx Office Print & Ship Centers will send completed applications to the state that day – all FREE OF CHARGE
- File an Appeal
- Job Postings. For Floridians who have been negatively impacted by COVID-19, there are resources available to help them get back to work. The State of Florida is seeking individuals with leadership skills, creativity and dedication to their fellow Floridians, and individuals who recognize the professional development opportunities and achievements possible through state service.
- For Employers
- SBA Economic Injury Disaster Loan and Loan Advance Program.
- For individuals
- Floridadisaster.biz is a partnership between the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity (DEO) and the Florida Division of Emergency Management (DEM). Floridadisaster.biz provides access to various resources, including:
- The Florida Business Damage Assessment Survey
- CARES Act and Business Resources
- Status of your small business Emergency Bridge Loan
- Executive Order 20-93 directs the Department of Economic Opportunity to pursue new or alternate forms and methods for receiving reemployment assistance applications, including making paper applications readily available on DEO’s website and throughout the state at each of the 24 Local Workforce Development Boards.
- DEO has announced actions taken to make accessing Reemployment Assistance more user friendly, for more information, please see the press release.
- DEO has announced new mobile-friendly site to apply for reemployment assistance. For more information, please see the press release for more information or start your reemployment assistance application online.
- The Florida Business Damage Assessment Survey has been activated to assess the impact of COVID-19 on Florida’s local business operations. The survey, managed by the Florida Department of Economic Opportunity (DEO), will evaluate businesses affected by COVID-19 and the impacts the virus has had on the local economy so actions to implement appropriate relief programs can begin. The Business Damage Assessment Survey can be taken online at https://floridadisaster.biz/BusinessDamageAssessments.
Florida Department of Elder Affairs
- The Florida Department of Elder Affairs’ COVID-19 Resource page provides information on News, Press Releases and Emergency Orders in addition to providing tips for caregivers of elders with memory disorders.
- The Florida Department of Elder Affairs is Partnering With Scent Evidence K9 to Help Vulnerable Populations Stay Safer at Home, please see the press release.
- Robotic Companion Pets Offer Comfort and Increased Engagement for Older Adults and Those Living with Dementia During COVID-19, please see the press release.
- The Florida Department of Elder Affairs and the Florida Alzheimer’s Association Collaborate to Bring the Gift of Music to Families Living With Dementia, please see the press release.
- The State of Florida’s “Project: VITAL” Will Connect Florida Seniors to Their Families Through Virtual Technology to Help Mitigate the Effects of Social Isolation, please see the press release.
- The Florida Department of Elder Affairs has announced a partnership with the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation and the Florida Restaurant and Lodging Association that allows the needs of the business community and workers in the restaurant business to be matched with the needs of the elderly and meal delivery services. For more information, please see the press release.
Florida Department of Emergency Management
- DEM ORDER NO. 20-001, In re COVID-19 Public Health Emergency (03/10/20)
- DEM ORDER NO. 20-002, In re COVID-19 Public Health Emergency (03/11/20)
- DEM ORDER NO. 20-003, In re COVID-19 Public Health Emergency (03/12/20)
- DEM ORDER NO. 20-004, In re COVID-19 Public Health Emergency (03/13/20)
- DEM ORDER NO. 20-005, In re COVID-19 Public Health Emergency (03/13/20)
- DEM ORDER NO. 20-006, In re COVID-19 Public Health Emergency (03/15/20)
- DEM ORDER NO. 20-007, In re COVID-19 Public Health Emergency (03/18/20)
Florida Department of Heath
- Declaration of Public Health Emergency
- DOH EO 20-01
- DOH EO 20-02
- DOH EO 20-03
- Information and advisories from the Centers for Disease Control (CDC)
- For any other questions related to COVID-19 in Florida, please contact the Department’s dedicated COVID-19 Call Center by calling (866) 779-6121. The Call Center is available 24 hours per day. Inquiries may also be emailed to COVIDemail@example.com
- Public Health Advisory: Protective Measures for Vulnerable Populations, Gatherings of Private Citizens and Density of the Workforce
Florida Department of Financial Services
- CFO Directive 20-01: Relating to travel insurance and ensuring rules relating to the transaction of insurance allow insurance agents to telework.
- CFO Directive 20-02: Ensures that hospitals and medical facilities can safely erect temporary medical facilities and gives temporary health facilities first priority for fire safety inspections and certification to facilitate rapid expansion of Florida’s inpatient bed capacity, if needed.
- CFO Directive 20-03: Provides guidance for State Fire Marshal licensees, including firesafety inspectors, fire service instructors, fire protection system contractors, and firefighters.
- CFO Directive 20-04: Provides guidance for deathcare industry licensees, including cemeteries and pre-need licensees.
- CFO Directive 20-05: Directs the DFS Division of Risk Management to provide workers’ compensation coverage for frontline state employees, while allowing individual agency heads to opt-out of these provisions.
- CFO Directive 20-06: Suspends employer penalty payments and reinstatement of stop-work penalty orders issued by the Division of Workers’ Compensation. The Directive also suspends strict compliance with the requirement that workers’ compensation insurers mail informational brochures pursuant to 440.185(3), and allows such insurers deliver the brochures by other means such as email of facsimile transfer.
- CFO Directive 20-07: Permits certain insurance agent licensure applicants to obtain temporary licenses while insurance-agent examining centers remain closed due to COVID-19, provided additional supervisory and assumption of liability parameters are satisfied.
Please visit the Florida Department of Financial Services Coronavirus Resources & Information site for more information.
Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles
- Emergency Order (pursuant to Executive Order 20-52), among other things, authorizes the following:
- Extends the effective period of driver licenses and identification cards with expiration dates on or after March 16, 2020, through April 15, 2020, for 60 days.
- Extends the effective period of driver licenses and identification cards with expiration dates on or after April 16, 2020, through May 31, 2020, for 30 days.
- Extends through June 30, 2020, the effective period of commercial driver licenses and commercial driver instructional permits with expiration dates on or after March 16, 2020.
- Waives through June 30, 2020, the requirements under section 322.59, Florida Statutes, that a person who holds a commercial driver license have a medical examination and certification, provided the commercial driver has proof of a valid medical certification that was issued for a period of 90 days or longer and that expired on or after March 1, 2020.
- Suspends through June 14, 2020, the enforcement of the registration requirements pursuant to sections 316.545(4) and 320.0715, Florida Statutes, for commercial motor vehicles that enter Florida to provide emergency services or supplies; transport emergency equipment, supplies, or personnel; or transport FEMA mobile homes or office style mobile homes into or from Florida.
- Suspends through June 14, 2020, the enforcement of the licensing and registration requirements under the International Fuel Tax Agreement pursuant to Chapter 207, Florida Statutes, and the International Registration Plan pursuant to section 320.0715, Florida Statutes, for motor carriers or drivers operating commercial motor vehicles that are properly registered in other jurisdictions and are participating in emergency relief efforts through the transportation of equipment and supplies or providing other assistance in the form of emergency services.
- Suspends through June 14, 2020, the enforcement of Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (FMCSA), Parts 390-399, except as otherwise restricted by current FMCSA declarations, for motor carriers and drivers providing direct assistance in support of relief efforts related to the COVID-19 outbreaks.
- Waives the delinquent renewal fees during the extension period for these actions.
- At the direction of Governor Ron DeSantis, the Florida Highway Patrol is assisting the Florida Department of Transportation and the Florida Department of Health (DOH) with checkpoints for motorists entering Florida on I-10 and I-95. To assist the public, the Florida Department of Health has a COVID-19 Call Center to address questions regarding vehicle checkpoints. Please call 1-866-779-6121 or email your questions to COVIDfirstname.lastname@example.org
- As directed by President Donald Trump, the Department of Homeland Security has extended the REAL ID enforcement deadline to October 1, 2021. While Florida continues to be a nationwide leader in REAL ID compliance, this extension will allow us to continue to protect the health of our employees and security of Floridians.
- Beginning June 3, 2020, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FLHSMV) will begin reopening offices to serve the public by appointment only. For a limited time, driver license and motor vehicle services will be limited to only those customers who are unable to conduct their transactions through GoRenew.com. The department’s strategic approach to reopening its offices prioritizes the health and safety of Floridians and FLHSMV members, while continuing to increase services for customers.
To ensure the safety of customers and staff, FLHSMV offices will provide in-office services by appointment only, until further notice. Appointments can be made online here.
To allow FLHSMV staff to operate safely and protect the health and wellbeing of customers, all FLHSMV offices will adhere to strict social distancing policies that every customer must follow in order to be served. Customers with appointments should note the following:
- Only customers with appointments will be allowed in the office.
- Customers will be asked a series of screening questions and have their temperature taken before they enter the office, per CDC guidelines. Customers with a fever will not be permitted to enter.
- Members of the public must use a facial covering, when obtaining essential services, which will be removed only for circumstances where capturing a photo of the customer is necessary.
Florida Department of Revenue
- Order of Emergency Waiver/Deviation #20-52-DOR-01 applies to all 67 Florida counties. Property tax is normally due by March 31 in the year following the year the taxes are assessed. The Department waives the due date so that payments remitted by April 15, 2020, for the 2019 tax year will be considered timely paid. Property tax returns for railroad, railroad terminal, private car and freight line and equipment company property are normally due by April 1. Returns will be timely filed if filed by April 15, 2020.
- Order of Emergency Waiver/Deviation # 20-52-DOR-002 extends certain filing deadlines for Florida businesses. This order addresses February and March reporting periods for the following taxes and fees:
- Sales and use tax, including discretionary sales surtax
- Tourist development tax
- Solid waste fees, including new tire fee, lead-acid battery fee, dry-cleaning gross receipts, and rental car surcharge
- Prepaid wireless E911 fees
- Order of Emergency Waiver/Deviation # 20-52-DOR-002 extends certain filing deadlines for Florida businesses. This order addresses February and March reporting periods for the following taxes and fees:
For more information, please visit the DOR Covid-19 Taxpayer information page.
Order of Emergency Waiver/Deviation # 20-52-DOR-003 extends certain corporate income/franchise tax (CIT) returns and payments.
Entities with a fiscal year ending December 31, 2019
- The May 1, 2020, due date for Florida CIT returns is extended to August 3, 2020.
- The May 1, 2020, due date for Florida CIT payments is extended to June 1, 2020.
- The due date to submit a request for extension of time to file the return and to make any tentative payment is extended to June 1, 2020.
Entities with a fiscal year ending January 31, 2020
- The June 1, 2020, due date for Florida CIT returns is extended to August 3, 2020.
- The June 1, 2020, due date for Florida CIT payments or to submit a request for extension of time to file remains June 1, 2020.
Entities with a fiscal year ending February 29. 2020
- The July 1, 2020, due date for Florida CIT returns is extended to August 3, 2020.
- The July 1, 2020, due date for Florida CIT payments or to submit a request for extension of time to file remains July 1, 2020.
Florida CIT payments should be based on the corporation’s best estimate of the amount of tax that would be due with the returns.
For more information, read the emergency order in its entirety at COVID-19 – Order of Emergency Waiver Corporate Income Tax Due Dates.
- The 2020 Disaster Preparedness Sales Tax Holiday was passed by the Florida Legislature and signed into law by Governor DeSantis beginning Friday, May 29, 2020, and extends through Thursday, June 4, 2020. During this sales tax holiday period, qualifying items related to disaster preparedness are exempt from sales tax. However, the sales tax holiday does not apply to the rental or repair of any of the qualifying items. Additionally, the sales tax holiday does not apply to sales in a theme park, entertainment complex, public lodging establishment or airport.
Florida Department of State
- Executive Order No. 20-52 and DOS Emergency Order 2020-01 Pursuant to Executive Order No. 20-52 and Department of State Emergency Order 2020-01, signed March 27, 2020, the time requirements for business entities to file annual reports are suspended and tolled until June 30, 2020. Any profit corporation, limited liability company, limited partnership or limited liability limited partnership annual report filing will have until 12:01 am on July 1, 2020, before a $400 late fee is assessed. Not for profit corporations are not subject to the $400.00 late fee.
- Emergency Rule 1SER20-1 – Designation of Division of Elections as Filing Office for Department of State; Requirements for Candidate Qualifying Papers; Withdrawal of Candidacy. Removes the requirement that the qualifying items be “original[s] and signatures thereon…be made in ink” so that these items can be collected, notarized, and submitted with limited person-to-person contact. Provides for qualifying documents to be submitted via email. Notary statements on required forms will be revised accordingly.
- Emergency Rule 1SER20-2 – Candidate Petition Process. Removes the requirement that the voter’s signature on a candidate petition be an “original, ink signature” so that signed petitions can be collected without person-to-person contact.
Florida Department of Transportation
- Emergency Order (pursuant to Executive Order 20-52) suspends the effect of any statute, rule, or order, as needed to allow the establishment of alternate size and weight restrictions for divisible loads on any vehicles transporting emergency equipment, services, supplies, and necessary agricultural commodities.
Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission
- Executive Order 20-08 extends the renewal deadline by at least 30 days from the current expiration date for the following licenses that require renewal in March or April:
- Commercial Freshwater licenses
- Charter Fishing Licenses
- Captive Wildlife Exhibition and Sale Licenses
- Venomous/Conditional/Prohibited Reptiles
- Private Game Preserves and Farms
- Marine Special Activity Licenses
- Executive Order 20-09 requires that all recreational boats be at least 50 feet apart. Each recreational vessel must not have more than 10 people on board.
- For more information on Florida’s Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission’s updates and response to COVID-19, including closures of Fish Management Areas and Water Management Areas, please visit the FWC’s COVID-19 Updates page.
- CARES act: The U.S. Secretary of Commerce recently announced the allocation of $300 million in fisheries assistance funding to go to states, Tribes, and territories with coastal and marine fishery participants who have been negatively affected by COVID–19. Please visit the Florida Fish and Wildlife Conservation Commission CARES act page for more information.
The Florida Lottery has closed its headquarters and District Offices beginning March 23 until further notice. Please see the office closure notice for information on how to redeem winning tickets or visit the FAQ page for additional information.
Florida Office of Financial Regulation
Emergency Order 2020-01 extends certain renewal deadlines for money services businesses.
Emergency Order 2020-02 extends certain filing deadlines occurring in March and April 2020:
- Certain filing deadlines for mortgage brokers, mortgage lenders, money service businesses, and securities businesses and professionals occurring in March and April 2020, are extended for a period of 45 days.
- Certain filing deadlines for state trust companies, registered family trust companies, state-chartered banks, and credit unions in March and April 2020, are extended for a period of 45 days.
- Certain filing deadlines for state banks, credit unions, international branches and international bank agencies in March 2020, are extended for a period of 30 days.
Emergency Order 2020-03 temporarily expands motor vehicle retail installment initial payment rule.
Emergency Order 2020-04 extends filing deadlines for certain licenses under the Division of Consumer Finance and the Division of Securities.
The Office of Financial Regulation has provided additional industry guidance and information on their COVID-19 Resources page.
Florida Office of Insurance Regulation
The Florida Office of Insurance Regulation (OIR) has provided a Policyholder Resource List to connect Florida policyholders with assistance being offered by insurers in response to COVID-19. For more information on policyholder resources or additional resources, please visit the OIR COVID-19 resource page.
- Informational Memorandum OIR-20-01M regarding communication and reducing the barriers of cost-sharing for testing and treatment of COVID-19.
- Informational Memorandum OIR-20-02M regarding early prescription refills.
- Informational Memorandum OIR-20-03M directing all insurers and other entities regulated by OIR to review and update their business continuity and/or continuity of operations plans.
- Informational Memorandum OIR-20-04M providing general guidance, including leniency on insurance premium payments.
- Informational Memorandum OIR-20-05M reminding insurers of applicable statutes regarding workers’ compensation insurance.
- Informational Memorandum OIR-20-06M providing guidance on the use of technology to help combat the spread of COVID-19.
Florida’s Attorney General’s Office
Florida’s Small Business Development Center Network
Florida’s SBDC network has disaster recovery specialists available to provide no-cost, one-on-one confidential consulting to help you prepare disaster loan applications and assist with any post-disaster challenges you encounter. Please note that consultations are taking place via phone call or virtual meeting. The SDBC recommends contacting your local Florida SBDC office as the quickest way to receive individual assistance.
The Florida SBDC Network has developed a Small Business Guide to COVID-19 to help small businesses understand available federal disaster loans and provide tips for impacted businesses to do right now to stay afloat. To access the guide, and for more information on resources available to small businesses impacted by COVID-19, please visit www.FloridaSBDC.org.
Additional Federal Resources and Information
U.S. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
The CDC has provided guidance to help businesses and employers plan and respond to COVID-19. For more information, please visit the CDC’s Interim Guidance for Business and Employers to Plan and Respond to Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) page.
U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
The U.S. Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) has advice on managing the financial impact of the coronavirus. Please visit the CFPB “Protecting your finances during the Coronavirus Pandemic” page for more information.
U.S. Department of Agriculture
- If you are a farmer or rancher whose operation has been directly impacted by the coronavirus pandemic, the Coronavirus Food Assistance Program (CFAP) provides direct relief to producers who faced price declines and additional marketing costs due to COVID-19.
- The U.S.D.A.’s Coronavirus actions page provides valuable resources and summarizes the U.S.D.A.’s COVID-19 response.
U.S. Internal Revenue Service
The Treasury Department and Internal Revenue Service announced that the federal income tax filing due date is automatically extended from April 15, 2020, to July 15, 2020. For more information, please see the press release. The IRS’ special coronavirus page provides additional information on Economic Impact Payments and provides guidance on how to deduct COVID-19 costs.
U.S. Small Business Administration
The U.S. Small Business Administration has additional information for guiding businesses and employers through the COVID-19 outbreak on their Small Business Guidance and Loan Resources page, including information on how to limit exposure to acute respiratory illnesses (including COVID-19), resources to prevent stigma and discrimination in the workplace, common issues small businesses may encounter, etc.
U.S. Secret Service
The U.S. Secret Service, in Partnership with U.S. Department of the Treasury, has launched the “Know Your U.S. Treasury Check Campaign” to bring awareness to citizens, retailers and financial institutions on how to protect themselves from becoming a victim of easy to detect counterfeit U.S. Treasury Checks. For more information, please see the press release.
U.S. Senate Committee on Small Business & Entrepreneurship
The U.S. Senate Committee on Small Business & Entrepreneurship has provided the Small Business Owner’s Guide to the CARES act.